Devils

Image

I watch the gypsies dance in the moonlight
Throwing shadows onto the tents
Mothers calling children to the caravans
A world eclipsed by sorrow

You, across the fire
Laughing at The Lovers
Dealt from the bottom of the deck
In the evening’s stark imperfection
We know each other perfectly

I wish there were blame to place
And that you would take me in your arms
And whisper softly into my ears
Until love becomes, again, second nature

Distant foghorns
Serenade us in the deep night
As I listen to your well-worn stories
And watch lies rise
Like mist from your mouth

While Devils make offers at a crossroads
Dreams of wine red oceans
And new worlds to explore
Slide in and out of consciousness

April 2010

18 Responses to “Devils”

  1. Oh Philip….wonderful.

  2. Phillip,

    I sort of wish that I didn’t understand this in my gut the way that I do:

    I wish there were blame to place
    And that you would take me in your arms
    And whisper softly into my ears
    Until love becomes, again, second nature

    That’s a lie, my gut wouldn’t know how to be anything else except my gut.

    Damn fine work my friend.

    Bert

    • Thanks very much Bert. I remember exactly where the impetus came from for that… and there were stomach problems involved – an ulcer. Still – we placed the blame – got over it – and then watched dumbstruck as it all fell apart again.

      Glad it resonated, Digger

Leave a Reply

